As a new Freddie King fan I have begun acquiring some of his music.  To date, I have bookends of his career:  Let’s Hide Away and Dance Away with Freddy King which was released the year I was born, 1961 and Burglar released in 1974 two years before Freddie’s death and the beginning of my teenage years.  I also enjoy the compilation album, Freddie King, Ultimate Collection.

Let’s Hide Away and Dance Away with Freddy King
The album Let’s Hide Away and Dance Away with Freddy King is an all instrumental album and includes his breakout hit, “Hide Away”.  Many of these tunes are pretty catchy, and “San-Ho-Zay” is another on the album that I especially like.

Track listing:

  1. Hide Away – 2:43
  2. Butterscotch – 3:04
  3. Sen-Sa-Shun – 2:54
  4. Side Tracked – 3:07
  5. The Stumble – 3:14
  6. Wash Out – 2:38
  7. San-Ho-Zay – 2:40
  8. Just Pickin’ – 2:33
  9. Heads Up – 2:33
  10. In the Open – 3:11
  11. Out Front – 2:40
  12. Swooshy – 2:19


  • Fred Jordan – guitar, rhythm guitar
  • Freddie King – guitar, vocals
  • Phillip Paul – drums
  • Gene Reid – saxophone
  • Clifford Scott – saxophone
  • Sonny Thompson – piano
  • Willis Williams – bass guitar


When Burglar was recorded, Freddie had left Shelter Records and signed with RSO Records based in the UK due to persuasion from his lifelong fan, Eric Clapton.  As the credits in the liner notes indicate this was a massive production which included some of the most prominent musicians of the time beginning with Slowhand himself plus JJ Cale, Issac Hayes and George Terry.  The sound of Burglar could be described as Blues meets Funk.

Track listing:

  1. Pack It Up – 4:10
  2. My Credit Didn’t Go Through – 4:09
  3. I Got the Same Old Blues – 3:27
  4. Only Getting Second Best – 3:47
  5. Texas Flyer – 3:48
  6. Pulp Wood – 3:13
  7. She’s a Burglar – 3:51
  8. Sugar Sweet – 3:50
  9. I Had a Dream – 5:02
  10. Come On (Let the Good Times Roll) – 3:32


Artist / Credit

  • P. Arnold Vocals, Vocals (Background)
  • Patrick Arnold Vocals (Background)
  • Brian Auger Guest Artist, Organ
  • Bud Beadle Sax (Baritone)
  • Misty Browning Vocals, Vocals (Background)
  • J. Cale Composer
  • Ron Carthy Main Personnel, Trumpet
  • Gonzalez Chandler Composer
  • Eric Clapton Guest Artist, Guitar, Main Personnel
  • Roy Davies Clavinet, Composer, Keyboards, Main Personnel, Organ, Piano, Piano (Electric)
  • Robert Davis Composer
  • Bob Defrin Art Direction
  • Roger Dopson Liner Notes
  • Tom Dowd Producer
  • Mick Eve Saxophone
  • Mick Eves Sax (Tenor)
  • Steve Ferrone Cabassa, Composer, Drums, Main Personnel
  • The Gonzales Horn Section Arranger, Horn, Horn Arrangements
  • Steve Gregory Horn Arrangements, Sax (Soprano), Sax (Tenor)
  • Barry Hammond Engineer
  • DeLisle Harper Bass, Composer, Percussion
  • Isaac Hayes Composer
  • Richie Hayward Composer
  • Gary “Gazza” Johnson Composer
  • Earl King Composer
  • Freddie King Composer, Guitar, Main Personnel, Primary Artist, Vocals
  • Steve Klein Engineer, Remix Assistant
  • Slick Lawson Photography
  • Mel London Composer
  • Chris Mercer Horn Arrangements, Sax (Tenor)
  • Jamie Oldaker Drums
  • Peter Palombi Cover Illustration, Illustrations
  • Greg Perry Composer
  • David Porter Composer
  • Carl Radle Bass
  • Jerry Ragovoy Composer
  • Dick Sims Keyboards, Organ
  • Bobby Tench Composer, Guitar
  • George Terry Guitar
  • Mike Vernon Audio Production, Composer, Drums, Percussion, Producer, Remastering, Remixing
  • Donnie Vie Vocals, Vocals (Background)
  • Pete Wingfield Clavinet, Composer, Keyboards, Piano, Piano (Electric)


*(reposted from the album summary on


CC BY-NC 4.0 Let’s Hide Away and Dance Away with Freddy King and Burglar by Christopher J Music is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

WordPress Lightbox
%d bloggers like this: